Shetland Guide Book
Photos of Shetland Mainland


The Mainland of Shetland runs from Sumburgh Head in the south to Fethaland in the north. The main town is Lerwick on the east side, with its sheltered harbour, while the ancient capital of Scalloway is nearby on the west side.

It can be conveniently divided into South (Cunningsburgh to Sumburgh), Central (Tingwall, Nesting, Lunnasting), West (Walls, Sandness, Aithsthing) and North (Delting and Northmavine).



Lerwick: town, streets and buildings
Scalloway: town, harbour and castle
Tingwall: includes valley north of Scalloway to Whiteness
Weisdale & Whiteness: covers everthing between Tingwall and Tresta
includes Tresta, Bixter and Aith and the area north of Aith
Walls & Sandness:
covers the area west of Bixter to Walls and Sandness
north and east from Lerwick including, Nesting, Lunnasting
including Voe, Brae, Sullom Voe and North
Eshaness: including Hillswick and Braewick
Northmavine: including Ronas Voe, Ronas Hill, North Roe & Fethaland
South: includes everything south of Lerwick except Sumburgh area
Sumburgh: includes Sumburgh Head and immediate area

Photography - Photo Library - Postcards - Calendars - Guide Books

Western Isles - Orkney - Shetland - Caithness